Utah Landlord Tenant Rights

If you’re a landlord or tenant in Utah, find out your rights and responsibilities with our quick guide to Utah landlord tenant rights.

Landlord Responsibilities

Under Utah law, landlords owe certain responsibilities to their tenants. These include the duty to provide, address, or maintain the following:

  • Dwelling structures
  • Electrical outlets and wiring
  • HVAC
  • Plumbing and sanitation
  • Water
  • Garbage removal (multi-family units only)
  • Bed bugs

If landlords fail to resolve any of the above, the tenant has the right to make the repairs themselves and deduct those costs from the rent. Landlords are prohibited from engaging in retaliatory conduct.

Tenant Responsibilities

Tenants likewise have responsibilities to landlords. These include the duty to:

  • Pay rent in a timely manner
  • Keep the unit in a safe and habitable condition
  • Comply with all building and housing codes
  • Reasonable use of facilities and appliances
  • Comply with smoking regulations in the lease
  • Keep fixtures in a clean and sanitary condition
  • Maintain smoke and carbon monoxide detectors
  • Allow reasonable access to the landlord to make necessary repairs
  • Perform minor maintenance and make small repairs
  • Not disturb other tenants or neighbors
  • Not destroy any part of the premises

Security Deposit

Landlords are free to charge whatever they wish for a security deposit. They have 30 days to return the deposit to the tenant minus deductions and if they fail to do so they will be liable for that amount plus a $100 penalty fee.

Rent and Fees

There is no cap to the amount Utah landlords can charge for rent or how much they increase it during the tenancy.

Evictions

Landlords have the right to evict tenants on the following grounds:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Violation of lease terms
  • No lease or end of lease
  • Subleasing without landlord consent
  • Committing waste
  • Illegal acts

Lease Termination Notice

Landlords are required to give tenants notice of lease termination in most cases. For nonpayment of rent, the landlord can issue a 3-day notice. For a lease violation, a 3-day notice is required. If the lease has ended, the landlord can issue a 15-day or 3-day notice, depending on how long the tenant has been in residency. If the tenant sublet the premises without the permission of the landlord, they will receive a 3-day notice. If the tenant commits waste or illegal acts, they will receive a 3-day notice.

Relevant State Agencies

Utah Department of Housing and Urban Development

City-Specific Links

Salt Lake City:

Salt Lake City Landlord Tenant Program

Water

Electric

Gas

West Valley City:

Water

Electric

Gas

West Jordan:

Good Landlord Program

Water

Electric

Gas

Official Rules and Regulations

Utah Landlord Tenant Law