Nevada Landlord Tenant Rights

Both landlords and tenants have rights and responsibilities under Nevada law. Before you enter into a lease agreement, check out our Nevada Landlord Tenant Rights cheat sheet.

Landlord Responsibilities

Under Nevada law, landlords have certain responsibilities to their tenants. These include the duty to provide, address, or maintain the following:

  • Dwelling structures
  • Floors, walls, and ceilings
  • Plumbing and sanitation
  • Water
  • Electrical outlets and wiring
  • Garbage removal
  • Ventilation
  • Air conditioning
  • Mold
  • Bed bugs

If the landlord fails to address or provide any of the above, the tenant may either withhold rent or make the necessary repairs themselves and deduct the cost of repairs from the rent. Landlords are prohibited from engaging in retaliatory conduct.

Tenant Responsibilities

Likewise, tenants have responsibilities to their landlords. These include the duty to:

  • Keep unit in a safe and habitable condition
  • Keep plumbing fixtures clean
  • Reasonable use of facilities and appliances
  • Not destroy any part of the premises
  • Make small repairs and perform minor maintenance
  • Not disturb other tenants or neighbors

Security Deposit

The landlord can request up to 3 months’ rent as a security deposit. They have 30 days to return the deposit minus deductions or else be held liable for the original amount plus penalty fees.

Rent and Fees

Landlords can charge any amount they wish for rent and fees. They must give a 45-day notice for any rent increase.

Evictions

Landlords have several grounds on which they can evict tenants. These include:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Lease violation
  • No lease or end of lease
  • Illegal acts

Tenants can legally terminate their lease early in the following circumstances:

  • Early termination clause
  • Active military duty
  • Uninhabitable unit
  • Landlord harassment
  • Domestic violence
  • Advanced age or illness

Lease Termination Notice

If the landlord wishes to terminate the lease for nonpayment of rent, they must give the tenant a 7-day notice before proceeding with eviction. If terminating for a lease violation, the landlord is required to give the tenant 5 days to comply before issuing a 5-day notice. If the tenant has stayed beyond the length of the lease, at-will tenants should receive a 5-day notice, week-to-week tenants a 7-day notice, and all other tenants a 30-day notice. For illegal acts, the landlord can issue a 3-day notice.

If a week-to-week tenant wishes to terminate their lease, they must give a 7-day notice, while month-to-month tenants must give 30 days.

Relevant State Agencies

Nevada Department of Housing and Urban Development

City-Specific Links

Las Vegas:

Water

Electric

Gas

Henderson:

Water

Electric

Gas

Reno:

Water

Electric

Gas

Official Rules and Regulations

Nevada Landlord Tenant Law