Mississippi Landlord Tenant Rights

Entering into a lease agreement is a big step. Before you sign the dotted line, take a look at our quick fact-sheet on Mississippi Landlord Tenant Rights.

Landlord Responsibilities

Landlords have certain responsibilities to their tenants. These include the duty to address, provide, or maintain the following:

  • Structural components
  • Plumbing
  • HVAC
  • Mold

Tenants may make their own repairs and deduct the cost from the amount of rent due. Landlords are prohibited from engaging in retaliatory conduct.

Tenant Responsibilities

Tenants also have responsibilities to their landlords. These include the duty to:

  • Not damage any part of the premises including the structural components and fixtures
  • Keep plumbing fixtures clean and sanitary
  • Reasonable use of all fixtures, facilities, and appliances
  • Maintain cleanliness standards set by the landlord
  • Not disturb other tenants or neighbors
  • Inform the landlord if repairs are needed or if a condition that may damage the premises exists
  • Not engage in illegal activity

Security Deposit

Mississippi law does not set a maximum allowable amount for a security deposit. Whatever the amount, the landlord has 45 days to return the deposit minus any deductions or they can be held liable for up to $200 in damages.

Rent and Fees

Landlords can charge any amount they choose for rent and fees and can raise the rent by any amount without notice to the tenant.

Evictions

Landlords can evict tenants on several grounds. These include:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Violation of lease terms
  • No lease or the lease has ended
  • Material health or safety violation
  • Illegal acts

Tenants can legally end their lease early in the following circumstances:

  • Early termination clause in the lease
  • Active military duty
  • Uninhabitable unit
  • Landlord harassment
  • Violation of lease terms

Lease Termination Notice

Landlords are required to give tenants notice in certain situations before terminating the lease. If the termination is for nonpayment, the landlord is required to give the tenant a 3-day Notice to Pay before beginning eviction proceedings. If a term of the lease has been violated, the landlord is required to give the tenant 30 days to resolve the issue. If the tenant stays on the premises beyond the term of the lease or the lease has ended, landlords must give week-to-week tenants a 7-day notice, month-to-month tenants a 30-day notice, and year-to-year tenants a 2-month notice. Landlords are not required to give notice if there is a material health or safety violation or if termination is based on illegal acts.

Tenants are likewise required to give landlords notice of lease termination. Week-to-week tenants must give a 7-day notice, month-to-month tenants a 30-day notice, and year-to-year tenants a 60-day notice.

Relevant State Agencies

Mississippi Department of Housing and Urban Development

City-Specific Links

Jackson:

Water

Electric

Gas

Gulfport:

Water

Electric

Gas

Southaven:

Water

Electric

Gas

Official Rules and Regulations

Mississippi Landlord Tenant Laws