Louisiana Landlord Tenant Rights

If you are a landlord or tenant in Louisiana, knowing your rights and responsibilities can help save you time and money should a problem arise during the tenancy. Let’s take a look at the basics of Louisiana landlord tenant rights below:

Landlord Responsibilities

Under Louisiana law, landlords owe certain responsibilities to their tenants. These include:

  • Providing a habitable unit
  • Making requested repairs within 14 days

Landlords are prohibited from acting in a retaliatory manner. Tenants are allowed to make repairs and deduct the cost from any rent owed.

Tenant Responsibilities

Likewise, tenants have certain responsibilities to landlords. These include:

  • Paying the rent in a timely manner
  • Keeping the facility clean and in good condition
  • Maintaining fixtures in the unit
  • Make repairs to damages caused by themselves or their guests
  • Do not disturb other tenants or neighbors

Security Deposit

Louisiana law does not cap a maximum security deposit amount. The landlord has one month to return the security deposit amount, minus any damages. If the landlord fails to return the security deposit in one month, they are liable for $300 or up to twice the security deposit amount, whichever is greater.

Rent and Fees

Landlords have the freedom to charge any amount they choose for rent and do not have to give the tenant notice before raising the rent.


Landlords can evict tenants for the following reasons:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Violation of lease terms
  • End of lease or no lease

Lease Termination Notice

If the lease is being terminated for nonpayment of rent or violation of lease terms, the landlord must give a 5-day notice. If the lease has ended or there isn’t a lease, the amount of notice given depends on the length of the tenancy. For a tenancy that has lasted less than one month, a 5-day notice is required. A 30-day notice is required if the tenancy has lasted for more than one month. If there is no definite term on the lease, the landlord must give the tenant a 5-day notice.

Relevant State Agencies

Louisiana Department of Housing and Urban Development

City-Specific Links

New Orleans:




Baton Rouge:

Baton Rouge Evictions





Shreveport evictions




Official Rules and Regulations

Louisiana Eviction Laws

Louisiana Lease Laws