Kansas Landlord Tenant Rights

Entering into a lease agreement is a big decision. Before you do, take a look at our quick guide to Kansas Landlord Tenant Rights below.

Landlord Responsibilities

Landlords have certain responsibilities to their tenants. These include the duty to address, provide, or maintain the following:

  • Dwelling structures
  • Electricity
  • Plumbing and sanitation
  • HVAC
  • Garbage
  • Water
  • Bed bugs

Tenants cannot make repairs themselves and deduct the cost from the rent. Landlords are prohibited from engaging in retaliatory conduct.

Tenant Responsibilities

Tenants likewise have responsibilities to their landlords. These include the duty to:

  • Pay rent in a timely manner
  • Keep the premises in a safe and habitable condition
  • Remove all garbage
  • Notify the landlord if absent for an extended period
  • Not disturb other tenants or neighbors

Security Deposit

Landlords can request up to one and a half month’s rent as a security deposit. If requested, they have 14 days to return the deposit minus deductions; otherwise, the law allows them 30 days to return the original deposit.

Rent and Fees

Landlords are allowed to charge any amount they wish for rent. They can also raise the rent by any amount but must give 30 days’ notice before increasing the rent.


Landlords have several grounds for eviction. These include:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Violation of lease terms
  • No lease or the lease has ended

Tenants can legally end their leases early in the following circumstances:

  • Early termination clause in the lease
  • Active military duty
  • Uninhabitable unit
  • Landlord harassment

If tenants break their lease early, they may be held liable for the remainder of the lease term.

Lease Termination Notice

Landlords are required to give tenants notice before terminating the lease. If termination is based on nonpayment of rent, the landlord must give the tenant a 3-day Notice to Pay before beginning eviction proceedings. If the termination is for violation of lease terms, the tenant has 14 days after notice to address the issue or else the landlord may issue a 30-day notice. If the tenant has stayed beyond the lease period or no lease exists, the landlord can issue a 7-day notice for week-to-week tenants, a 30-day notice for year-to-year tenants, a 3-day notice if the tenancy has been less than 3 months or a 10-day notice for furnished apartments.

Tenants likewise must give notice to landlords before terminating a lease. Week-to-week tenants must give a 7-day notice, month-to-month tenants a 30-day notice and year-to-year tenants a 30-day notice.

Relevant State Agencies

Kansas Department of Housing and Urban Development

City-Specific Links





Overland Park:




Kansas City:




Official Rules and Regulations

Kansas Residential Landlord and Tenant Act