Idaho Landlord Tenant Rights

Whether you are a landlord or a tenant, entering into a rental agreement is a big decision. Before you sign on the dotted line, check out our guide to Idaho Landlord Tenant Rights.

Landlord Responsibilities

Landlords have certain responsibilities to their tenants. These include the duty to address, provide, or maintain the following:

  • Dwelling structures
  • Water
  • HVAC
  • Plumbing and sanitation
  • Electrical wiring
  • Smoke detectors

Tenants are not allowed to make repairs themselves or withhold rent because of outstanding repairs. Landlords are prohibited from engaging in retaliatory conduct.

Tenant Responsibilities

Likewise, tenants have responsibilities to their landlords. These include the duty to:

  • Pay rent in a timely manner
  • Keep the unit in a safe and habitable condition
  • Keep fixtures clean and sanitary
  • Reasonable use of appliances, facilities, and fixtures
  • Not damage any part of the premises
  • Prevent injury to others on the premises
  • Make small repairs and complete minor maintenance if needed
  • Not disturb other tenants or neighbors

Security Deposit

Landlords are allowed to charge whatever they wish as a security deposit. They have 30 days to return the deposit minus deductions or the tenant may take legal action against them.

Rent and Fees

Landlords are free to charge whatever they wish for rent. They can raise the rent as much as they want as long as they give tenants a 15-day notice.


Landlords have several grounds on which they can evict tenants. These include:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Lease violation
  • No lease or end of lease
  • Waste
  • Illegal drug activity

Tenants can legally end their lease early in the following circumstances:

  • Early termination clause in the lease
  • Active military duty
  • Uninhabitable unit
  • Landlord harassment

Landlords do not have a duty to mitigate damages by re-renting the premises, so tenants may be liable for the rest of the lease term.

Lease Termination Notice

Under Idaho law, landlords are required to give tenants notice before terminating their lease. For nonpayment of rent, the landlord can issue a 3-day Notice to Pay before beginning eviction proceedings. If the lease is being terminated for a violation of the lease, the landlord does not have to give the tenant notice. If the tenant has stayed in the unit past the term of the lease or there isn’t a lease, the landlord is required to give them a 30-day notice. For waste, the landlord must give the tenant a 3-day notice. If the lease is being terminated for illegal drug activity, the landlord must give a 3-day notice.

Likewise, tenants must give landlords notice before terminating the lease. Both month-to-month and year-to-year tenants must give a 1-month notice.

Relevant State Agencies

Idaho Department of Housing and Urban Development

City-Specific Links













Official Rules and Regulations

Idaho Landlord Tenant Laws