Georgia Landlord Tenant Rights

Whether you are a landlord or a tenant, find out everything you need to know about renting in Georgia with our Georgia Landlord Tenant Rights guide.

Landlord Responsibilities

In Georgia, landlords have the following responsibilities and must make repairs within a “reasonable” time:

  • Plumbing
  • Sanitation and sewage
  • Electricity
  • Smoke detectors
  • Air conditioning

Landlords are prohibited from engaging in discriminatory or retaliatory conduct.

Tenant Responsibilities

Georgia tenants also have responsibilities:

  • Pay rent in a timely manner
  • Keep the living space clean and free from hazards
  • Follow cleanliness standards set by landlord
  • Not disturb neighbors
  • Notify landlord of any needed repairs or dangerous conditions
  • Keep fixtures sanitary and use in a reasonable manner

Security Deposit

Georgia landlords are free to ask for any amount for a security deposit. That deposit can be used to compensate for unpaid rent, abandoned property disposal, payment of utilities, unpaid pet fees and third-party cleaning fees.

Landlords must return the deposit, minus deductions and a written explanation of charges, to tenants within 30 days. Failure to do so will result in the landlord being liable for 3 times the deposit amount.

Rent and Fees

Landlords have discretion to ask for any amount for rent and do not have to give notice of rent increases.

Evictions

Landlords can evict tenants for the following reasons:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Violation of lease terms
  • No lease or end of lease

Tenants can terminate their leases early in the following circumstances:

  • Active military duty
  • Uninhabitable unit
  • Landlord harassment
  • Domestic violence
  • Early termination clause

Lease Termination Notice

Georgia law doesn’t state a time period for notice to terminate leases for nonpayment of rent or for lease violations.

If the lease is annual, the tenant must be given a 60-day lease termination notice. For quarter-to-quarter leases, the notice is 60 days. For month-to-month leases, the tenant should receive a 60-day notice to terminate.

Tenants who wish to terminate their lease for any reason must give 30 days notice.

Relevant State Agencies

Georgia Department of Housing and Urban Development

City-Specific Links

Atlanta:

Water

Electric

Gas

Columbus:

Water

Electric

Gas

Augusta:

Water

Electric

Gas

Official Rules and Regulations 

Georgia Landlord Tenant Laws