Colorado Landlord Tenant Rights

If you’re a lessor or lessee in Colorado, it’s important to know your rights and responsibilities. We’ve compiled the below list of landlord tenant rights to save you time and money.

Landlord Responsibilities

Under Colorado law, landlords have certain responsibilities to their tenants. These responsibilities include providing or performing maintenance for:

  • Dwelling structures
  • Plumbing/sanitation
  • Gas lines
  • Water
  • Electrical outlets and wiring
  • Heating
  • Vermin control
  • Garbage removal
  • Stairs and railings
  • Mold
  • Bed bugs
  • Lead paint disclosure

Landlords are prohibited from engaging in retaliatory conduct.

Tenant Responsibilities

Tenants likewise have responsibilities under Colorado law. These include:

  • Paying the rent in a timely manner
  • Keeping the unit safe and habitable
  • Removing garbage and maintaining cleanliness
  • Reasonable use of facilities and appliances
  • Performing minor repairs and maintenance
  • Informing the landlord if the premises is uninhabitable
  • Not destroying any part of the property
  • Not disturbing other tenants or neighbors

Security Deposit

Colorado landlords can charge whatever they want for a security deposit, but they must return the deposit amount minus charges within one month of the tenant quitting the property or else be liable for three times the original amount. The landlord can deduct the following expenses from the security deposit: unpaid rent or utility bills, cleaning costs, damages, and storage or removal for abandoned property.

Rent and Fees

Colorado law doesn’t set a limit for the maximum amount of rent allowed and landlords are allowed to raise the rent as much as they want without notice to the tenant.

Evictions

Tenants may be evicted for the following reasons:

  • Nonpayment of rent
  • Lease violation
  • No lease or end of lease
  • Illegal acts

Lease Termination Notice

Colorado law has varying requirements for landlords on issuing lease termination notices. For landlords who have five or fewer rental properties and whose tenant has failed to pay rent, they must issue a 5-day notice to pay. If the landlord is the tenant’s employer, they must issue a 3-day notice to pay. All other tenancies require a 10-day notice.

If the eviction is on lease violation grounds, landlords with five or fewer tenancies must give a 5-day notice. If the landlord is also the tenant’s employer, they must issue a 3-day notice. All other tenancies require a 10-day notice.

If the eviction is because of illegal acts, the tenant must receive a 3-day notice.

When the eviction is for at-will tenants who do not have a lease or are at the end of their lease, the notice period is dependent on the length of tenancy. For tenants who have lived in the property for one year or more, they should receive a 91-day notice to quit. For tenancies of six months to one year, a 28-day notice is required. For one to six month tenancies, a 21-day notice is required. From one week to one month, only a 3-day notice is necessary. Tenancies lasting less than a week require a 1-day notice.

Tenants can legally end their lease early for the following reasons:

  • Early termination clause
  • Active military duty
  • Uninhabitable unit
  • Landlord harassment
  • Gas hazard

However, the tenant may be responsible for the remainder of the lease period.

Relevant State Agencies

Colorado Department of Housing and Urban Development

City-Specific Links

Denver:

Denver Housing Ordinances

Water

Electric

Gas

Colorado Springs:

Colorado Springs Landlord Tenant Rights and Information

Water

Electric

Gas

Aurora:

Health and Housing Codes

Water

Electric

Gas

Official Rules and Regulations

Colorado Landlord Tenant Law