Alaska Landlord Tenant Rights

Renting a home can be stressful, whether you are the lessor or the lessee. Take the stress out of rentals with our below guide on Alaska landlord tenant rights.

Landlord Responsibilities

The landlord has certain responsibilities to the tenant. These include:

  • Providing and maintaining a habitable premises
  • Making requested repairs in a timely manner (10 days)
  • Providing water, heating and plumbing
  • Providing garbage removal
  • Removal of bed bugs and pest control
  • Providing a 24-hour notice of entry

The landlord is prohibited from evicting a tenant in retaliation for exercising their rights to a habitable dwelling granted to them under Alaska law.

Tenant Responsibilities

The tenant also has responsibilities to the landlord. These include:

  • Keeping the unit in a clean, safe and habitable condition
  • Not changing any door locks without permission
  • Making minor repairs
  • Not disturbing other tenants or neighbors
  • Using facilities and appliances in a reasonable manner
  • Maintaining all smoke and carbon monoxide devices
  • Not negligently or deliberately damaging the rental unit

Security Deposit

Alaska law limits security deposits to the equivalent of 2 months’ rent.

The security deposit must be returned within 30 days after the tenant moves out of the rental unit (14 days if tenant gives proper notice to terminate a tenancy). A landlord is liable to pay up to twice the value of the security deposit for wrongfully withholding the return of the deposit from the tenant. However, the security deposit can be withheld for the following reasons:

  • Unpaid rent
  • Damage caused by the tenant beyond ordinary wear and tear

Landlords must provide the tenant an itemized list of damages charged against the security deposit and the amount being returned to the tenant.

Rent and Fees

Alaska landlords can increase the rent for any amount without providing the tenant a justification as long as it is not during the terms of a lease. Alaska landlords must provide month-to-month tenants with at least 30 days’ notice before any increase to the rental price.

Landlords can charge any amount they want in late fees as long as it is explicitly stated in the lease agreement. In addition, there is no required grace period before a landlord can charge late fees. Landlords can charge tenants $30 for returned checks. Alaska landlords are also free to charge an application fee to prospective tenants.

If a landlord does not make requested repairs within a reasonable time of a tenant’s request, a tenant may make the repairs themself and deduct the cost from their rent payment. Both tenants and landlords can also file suit in Alaska small claims court for matters up to $10,000.00.


Evictions can occur in Alaska under the following circumstances:

  • Nonpayment of rent – 7-day Notice to Pay
  • Lease violation – 10-day Notice to Cure or Quit
  • No lease or end of lease
    • Week-to-week – 14-day notice
    • Month-to-Month – 30-day notice
  • Unpaid utilities – 5-day Notice to Quit
  • Failure to allow landlord access – 10-day Notice to Quit
  • Illegal Acts

A landlord cannot evict a tenant in retaliation or based on discriminatory reasons.

Tenants can end a lease early for the following listed reasons:

  • Early termination clause
  • Active military duty
  • Landlord harassment
  • Uninhabitable Unit

If an Alaska tenant breaks the lease early, they may be required to pay the outstanding amount due on the lease agreement. However, landlords are required to re-rent the unit quickly.

Lease Termination Notice

If the lease is Week-to-Week, the tenant must give a 14-day termination notice. If the lease is Month-to-Month, the tenant must provide a 30-day notice.

Relevant State Agencies

Association of Alaska Housing Authority

City-Specific Links


Cook Inlet Housing Authority





Tlingit Haida Regional Housing Authority




Interior Regional Housing Authority




Official Rules and Regulations

Alaska Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act